24 students awarded in essay contest

RANCHO SANTA FE — Twenty-four students representing five schools were honored Feb. 6 during the annual American history essay contest sponsored by the De Anza chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
With this year’s essay topic, the completion of the first transcontinental railroad, students were asked to place themselves in a historical mindset and describe how they would have felt when the golden spike was driven at Promontory Summit in Utah on May 10, 1869.
Fourteen readers evaluated entries from fifth- and eighth-grade students at Mission Estancia Elementary School, The Nativity School, The Rhoades School, St. James Academy and St. John School.
“The most fascinating aspect of this contest is that the students could choose from three unique perspectives — a westbound settler, an Irish or Chinese railroad laborer or a Native American impacted by the railroad,” said Jennifer Anklesaria, chairwoman of the essay committee. “This demonstrates that there were multiple nationalities that make up the historical fabric of our nation.”
First-, second- and third-place awards, as well as an honorable mention, were given to students in each grade level from the participating schools. New to the contest this year were cash awards for the top two winners in each grade level.
Lauren Hughes, an eighth-grader in Jamie Schlehuber’s class at St. John, won $100. From The Rhoades School, Anna Shuster from Paul Ruppert’s class was awarded $50. Jonny Baham and Julia Wagner, students in Marilyn Bieck’s fifth—-rade class at Mission Estancia, were awarded $100 and $50, respectively.
Lauren and Jonny were also winners at the district level. They now go on to the state competition. If they win there, their essays will be entered in the national competition in July at the Continental Congress in Washington, D.C.

Below is a complete list of all winners.
Mission Estancia Elementary
Grade five
Teacher — Marilyn Bieck
First — Jonny Baham
Second — Julia Wagner
Third — Kate Sequiera
Honorable mention — Emily Chung

St. John School
Grade eight
Teacher – Jamie Schlehuber
First – Lauren Hughes
Second – Troy Lingelbach
Third – Tyler Ingel
Honorable mention — Paige Stehly

St. John School
Grade eight
Teacher — Teresa Roberts
First — Connor Hume
Second — Benjamin Lampe
Third — Tyler Tanaka
Honorable mention — Christian Marsella

The Nativity School
Grade eight
Teacher — Kim Dixon
First — Danielle Wills
Second — Kennedy Alvarez
Third — Kristen Loyek
Honorable mention — Robbie Green

The Rhoades School
Grade eight
Teacher — Paul Ruppert
First — Anna Shuster
Second — Brock Oury
Third — Melissa E. Adams
Honorable mention — Isabella M. Salant

St. James
Grade eight
Teacher — Leslie Beswick
First — Michael McRoskey
Second — Morgan Hazel
Third — Anna Kalfayan
Honorable mention — Trevor York


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?