Palomar College students and faculty are winners at San Diego County Fair

SAN MARCOS—Palomar College students proved to be winners at the 2009 San Diego County Fair, earning more than 50 top honors in the Student Showcase competitive exhibit.
Representing a variety of divisions, Palomar students won 20 Best of Class and Show awards and 32 Best of Class awards. Palomar photography instructor Donna Cosentino also won the Student Showcase’s Teacher Award.
In the 2009 Student Showcase, Community College category, Palomar College student winners are, for Best of Show and Class: Drafting: Jake Holdridge, Computer Aided Design Technical Illustration; and Juliet Rigtrup, CAD Technical Drafting; Electronic Media: Dawn Abbott, Internet Publishing; and Gretel Maggos, Multi-Media (Linear Presentation).
Additional winners were Augusto Almanza, Group Project (Automotive); Werner Pyka, General Furniture Cabinetry; Jeff Scott, Wooden Musical Instruments; and J. Lloyd Voorhees, Desks, Tables, and/or Chairs; Graphic Communications: Jaimie Bissell, Design (Packaging); Miguel Blanco, Graphic Processes (Offset Lithography;); James Coleman, Group Projects and Special Education; Patricia Connor, Design (Typography); Eric Garcia, Digital Imaging (Image Collage); Marci Lawson, Group Projects and Special Education; Kim Miller, Design (Music Mania Posters); Jeff Oglesby, Design (Public Service Advertising); and Shelley Schott, Design (Portfolio); Photography: Travis Burke, Creative Photography; and Phyllis Celmer, Photojournalism (Photo Essay); Video: Raymond Roman, Features/Entertainment.
Best of Class winners included: Drafting: Nicole Mayfield, CAD (Technical Drafting); Ashley Perkett, CAD (Architectural Rendering Presentation); and Nikolas Sanchez, Other Projects (3-D Modeling); Electronic Media: Rino Mitsuya, Multi-media (Animation Presentation); Sean Reinagel, Multi-media (Motion Graphics); Raymond Roman, Multi-media (Linear Presentation); Steve Schlais, Internet Publishing (Promotional/e-Commerce); and Anthony Schwartz, Internet Publishing (Newspaper Internet Site);
Other winners were Fine Art: Shirley Anderson, 2-D (Acrylic); Patti Down, Mixed Media; Marion Goodhart, Thematic (Cultural Heritage of Southern California); Nancy Pinta, 2-D (Pastel); Cleo Robinson, 2-D (Watercolor); Drew Sawyer, Thematic (Music Mania – Fair Theme); and Neal Wysocki, 2-D (Oil); General Technology: John Lovell, Other Projects; Ed McCravy, Other Projects; Paul Micheletti, Wooden Musical Instruments; Paul Poore, General Furniture Cabinetry; Werner Pyka, General Furniture Cabinetry; Aaron Roper, General Woodworking; and Kyle Toth, Desks, Tables and/or Chairs; Graphic Communications: Claudia Diaz, Design (Posters); Nadine Fiscus, Computer Graphics; and Kim Miller, Digital Imaging (Digital Composite Image); Photography: Rob Bacon, Photojournalism (News/Sports); Sirena Brown, Color Photography; Sharon Holmlund, Fair Theme “Music Mania”; Robin Reid, Panoramic Images; Lou Sheldon, Monochrome Images; Seungye Shin, Panoramic Images; Dave Ulrigg, Fair Theme “Music Mania”; and Kevin Winter, San Diego County Lifestyles; Video: Rigel Meketa, News Programs.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?